Home » Makeovers » Duck Egg Dressers

Duck Egg Dressers

I finished a MAJOR project!  Yay!  Two weeks ago I saw these beautiful antique “His” and “Hers” dressers for sale on Craigslist.  They looked stunning in the pictures, and seemed to be in great shape for their age.  Turned out they were being sold by another dealer in a neighboring Dallas suburb.  This dealer tends to deal less in antiques and more in newer second-hand furnishings, so they were looking to unload these. They gave me a great deal on both dressers with the agreement to pick them up that day . . . So, my wonderful husband offered to make the hour and half round-trip trek to get them that evening after work.  Thank you dear!

DSC03079

I was really attracted to the details on each piece, especially the original hardware and casters.  Boy, do I love casters! The Hers dresser also came with a mirror, but I forgot to throw that in the before picture.  Whoops.

They were quite smokey, so they required several days of airing out and washing them down with vinegar water.  A few drawers also needed to be repaired, and both tops needed to be sanded down. They were alot of work.  But, I think they were worth it, and I hope you will agree!

???????????????????????????????

Here’s the “Hers”.  And now, the “His”

DSC03095

Aren’t they fabulous? I painted them both in Annie Sloan  Duck Egg Blue, and hand-painted some accents in Old White.  Then they both got a coat of Dark Wax to tone down the blue.  The tops I refinished with a dark walnut stain, and they turned out beautifully.

DSC03099

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I have sold 3 furniture pieces out of my shop in the past week, so I finished these up just in time. I have a feeling they won’t last long.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Linking up to:

Miss Mustard Seed Furniture Feature Friday

9 thoughts on “Duck Egg Dressers

  1. They are beautiful, Melanie! I agree that they won’t last long at all…I’m still waiting to come shopping at your booth 🙂

  2. They are so beautiful!!
    I love Duck Egg and white detailing….I just did a small magazine rack in these colors.
    Yes, I have a feeling your dressers won’t last long either. Great job!!!

  3. These came out beautifully. Duck Egg was a great color choice along with the stained top, dark hardware and your tasteful distressing. Well done!

  4. Pingback: Memphis and a Makeover | lose the ordinary. find the unique.

  5. Pingback: Henry Link Lost & Found | lose the ordinary. find the unique.

  6. Pingback: Top Posts 2013 | lose the ordinary. find the unique.

Leave a Reply

